The City of Watertown utilizes council/administrator form of new council 2023government. This system provides the citizens of Watertown a responsive, progressive government and a vision for our community.

City Council

The City Council is presided over by the Mayor, who is elected to a two-year term. The four council members are elected every four years via a city-wide vote. Among its primary duties, the city council makes laws, sets policies, adopts budgets and oversees a wide-ranging agenda for the community. The city administrator oversees and directs all city operations, projects and programs.